Hi Sandy!

Edit below: changed the date for the award show due to the hurricane! It’s now on November 15, same place!

This is exciting stuff, guys. I’d say it was very exciting television, if I were on television. But sadly, The Once and Future Coffee Addict isn’t a television show (yet), so this is simply going to be a very exciting blog post. You see, right now, Hurricane Sandy is totally sending New York into the closest thing it has to “oh shit” mode. And I’m here on the front lines (actually in Bed-Stuy, which for once is one of the safest places you can be in New York) bravely writing a blog post. Anything could happen! The power could go out, or even worse the unthinkable could happen and the INTERNET could go out. It already happened for a few terrifying minutes, and without snarky Twitter commentary on the storm, how do I know the world isn’t ending RIGHT AROUND ME?

Pictured above: the world totally ending

But, my sanity was preserved, and the internet came back on in time to hear Mayor Bloomberg’s reassuring garbled Spanish. And I can bring you my slightly-caffeinated-slightly-toasty blog post, brought to you by coffee mixed with chocolate liqueur. Because when it comes to natural disasters, no one prepares quite like New Yorkers. And by that I mean we just buy out the entire Trader Joe’s wine supply. And have wine and cheese and crackers and watch the entire run of Buffy on DVD. And when I went to the store, all the fancy crackers were gone, and I had to get SALTINES. I mean what kind of natural disaster is this where we can’t get nice crackers? So really, all Hurricane Sandy is doing is making us really aware of our #firstworldproblems.

Since there hasn’t really been much to do since being quarantined here by the subway shutdown, I’ve been live tweeting the whole experience, so you can follow me on Twitter for more social media gems like:

and also the harrowing tale of our journey to the deli, complete with pictures of me dressed in a weird hurricane getup (spoiler: we totally got orange juice and everything went better than expected).

Anyway, there ‘s more stuff going on than just some wine-supply-depleting storm having its way with New York. Remember that time I got to showcase a short film with RAW Brooklyn? Well, as it turns out, they nominated me for a RAWard (nice portmanteau there) and you, dear readers, are totally invited! Here are the details:

Brooklyn RAWards Semi-Finals

November 8 EDIT: Rescheduled for November 15! 8 pm (the film screening’s near the beginning, so get there early!)

Littlefield, 622 Degraw Street, Brooklyn, NY

Tickets are $15 online, or $20 at the door.

Anyway, if you need an incentive, know that I actually have a pretty good chance of winning, since there are only two other film nominees, and the more people I get to come, the more votes I’ll get. And also if you come, you’ll get to see this awesome video I shot for Agent Ribbons! Plus more surprises.

So, there’s your incentive. After you survive the hurricane, come for a night of film and cupcakes. There’s totally going to be cupcakes.

One thought on “Hi Sandy!

  1. Pingback: Eye of the Storm « The Once and Future Coffee Addict

Leave a comment