This is a thing that’s happening

Sometimes I need to be reminded of why I started this blog in the first place. Which was like, three years ago and change! Because a lot of the time I need to force myself to write/draw SOMETHING to avoid a multi month gap between posts. But there was a particular reason I started it, and that was to have an excuse to write things. And in a very 2013 way, it ended up taking a Buzzfeed article to remind me that, in order to be a writer (that is, to write things), I need to actually write things.

And that’s hard! It takes discipline to write things! It also takes discipline to edit things, find gigs, buy groceries, do laundry, and sign up for healthcare. Those, incidentally, are all things that I did this week but took longer than they would have if I had better discipline (that is, not browsing Buzzfeed articles, scrolling through Tumblr, or hate-reading my Facebook timeline.

But that writing thing? That’s something I can get on write now! (No.)* November, in addition to being a time where guys find an excuse to slack off shaving for an entire month, is known in writing circles as National Novel Writing Month, or annoyingly abbreviated as NaNoWriMo, which is absolutely the stupidest name I’ve ever seen for anything. And while I’m not exactly prepared to write a novel, or a screenplay or spec script or whatever, some bloggers have taken to it as an excuse to write a blog post every day, and calling it NaBloWriMo, which somehow manages to be even fucking stupider. In spite of that, I can get behind the sentiment.

I’m also glad that this idea came to me on the first of the month, and not sometime later this week when it would be too late to say I’m writing a post per day and have anyone take me seriously. Actually given my track record I still doubt anyone will take me seriously, but I’m going to make an attempt of it anyway. I would like for my writing to improve, and the only way to do that is to give myself a stupidly-named excuse to do it.

Here’s what to expect: Shorter posts than I’m used to writing, just to get them out there. Also less illustrations than I normally like to do. They take a while and I need to charge my iPad.

For today's post I'm just going to outsource the illustration.

For today’s post I’m just going to outsource the illustration.

In the next post: I get really excited about media.

*I took the liberty of adding in your (the readers’) collective commentary regarding that pun.

Leave a Reply

