In which I get really excited about media

Something weird happened in 2013. I kind of fell out of the loop. That is, the pop culture loop, and I don’t even want to call it that, because it’s too broad to really cover what I mean, but if I just say something about music or something it doesn’t cover everything I need it to cover. Does that make sense? Whatever. Music. Books. Movies. TV. All the things you’d put in an iPhone/Pad/Pod ad, if you were to put it all in Helvetica Neue Ultra-Light. That’s a sexy font, Apple.

Gif Unchained or Django Ungiffed?

Gif Unchained or Django Ungiffed? (should there be two f’s in “ungiffed”?)

Anyway, regarding my falling out of the loop: I’m not totally sure why this happened? I have some theories, ranging from the horrifying (shit what if I’m getting old?) to the cynical (maybe things just suck now?) to the practical (I don’t really have the money for media consumption) to the most likely (2013 has actually been a really difficult year okay and maybe time got away from me). I think there’s some truth to all of them.  And I’ll probably even address some or all of them later this month. I like being spontaneous.

However, in the past week (roughly) that’s changed. All of a sudden I’m totally finding stuff to get really into. And it’s exciting! Is this just because it’s fall, and there’s a lot to get excited about in the fall? Or is it something else? I don’t want to waste another paragraph on theorizing, so I’m just going to get into it.

Sky Ferreira – Night Time, My Time

I had no idea what to expect with this new album, and I wasn’t even really into that critical darling of a song “Everything is Embarrassing” that came out a while ago. But this completes the holy trinity of cool, weird girls making cool, weird, sort-of-indie, pop, which also includes Grimes and Charli XCX.

Dum Dum Girls – Too True

DUDE. It’s been way too long since Dum Dum Girls have released a record, and they just released an EP last year. I was there. But they’re just so consistently GOOD that I know it’s going to be at least as good as all their other releases. Dee Dee Penny is my spirit animal. And I feel pretty gross calling anyone my spirit animal, so you know I’m serious. I’m really, really excited for January.

Hyperbole and a Half

hyperbole

I mentioned this like a million times before. I love Hyperbole and a Half, and when I found out the book was coming out, I started hyperventilating. And when I found out that Allie Brosh was doing a book launch event at Word in Greenpoint, I started hyperventilating again. I went this past week–it was crazy crowded and she read the first chapter of the book with her illustrations on the projector. Everyone just completely lost it laughing. I can’t wait to read the whole book.

Doctor Who

Thanks to Netflix I was able to procrastinate like never before got into Doctor Who by watching all seven seasons of the revived series in a few months. Good timing because the 50th anniversary episode is coming up this month and I’m secretly geeking out over it.

Steven Universe

This show’s the creation of Rebecca Sugar, who used to work on Adventure Time, which I also think is brilliant. This show has the potential to be just as good. It’s also the first show on Cartoon Network solely produced by a woman, which is awesome. Well, not awesome on them that they took this long, but awesome that they’re finally getting on it.

I also really want that damn Retina iPad Mini. The black one.

Leave a Reply

